Latest Articles
Search Engine
 
303 Aerospace Tire And Rubber Protectant Short Term Review
Published on September 30, 2011 by Volvospeed

Of all the multi-purpose products out there, I can think of only three that I would wholeheartedly recommend. Leatherman multi-tools, GT85 cleaner and lube, and now 303 Aerospace Protectant. Before we go into the details, I would like to cover a few of the high points. First this is not a petroleum based product, so over spray is easy to clean off. Second, it is a rubber protectant not a rubber shiner like Tire Wet. Finally best of all, this can be used on composite materials that do not have properly stabilized resins to prevent UV and Ozone oxidation.  Keep in mind no product can truly restore a tire. Once it has cracked it is cracked. The key is protecting them and preventing future damage. 303 is considered by many users to be one of the best, despite being an obscure name in the car world. It has been used extensively on heavy trucks, RVs, and aircraft and is a highly regarded product in these communities. Finding it locally can be a challenge. West Marine carries it at selected locations. The best price that I could currently find was on Amazon: 303 Aerospace Protectant.


I-Roll Tuning Volvo Chip
Published on February 15, 2011 by Volvospeed

Recently we have seen a new comer to the Volvo tuner world with I-Roll Tuning introducing the entry level ECU tune for several popular Volvos. Often we hear about amazing gains from a simple upgrade such a new ECU but you have to take these claims with a grain of salt. IPD and PES are time proven companies, but what about a relatively new company like I-Roll Tuning. The owner of the company Phil is well known around the Volvo forum MVS. Having a background in the community is a great base, and shows a commitment to quality and customer support. Looking a little deeper I was able to come up with some dyno graphs of the I-Roll Tuning chip in action.


Dupli-Color Shield
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

We all know the painful sound of a rock pinging off a freshly painted car. Unfortunately this is just a fact of life. However, on long road trips we do have some recourse. A common trick for protecting your paint on the way to a car meet, or any road trip, is to tape the hood and air dam with masking tape. Tape sticks to the paint preventing the buffing effect poor fitting bras are known for


NOS Octane Booster
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

When mixed in a 60:1 ratio of fuel to additive the NOS averaged a RON reading of 102.8 and a MON rating of 92.5. Giving NOS in a concentration of 60:1 an AKI of 97.6 when mixed with 93 pump fuel.


Lucas Octane Booster
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

When mixed in a 100:1 ratio of fuel to additive the Lucas Octane Boosted averaged a RON reading of 101.4 and a MON rating of 91.8. Giving Lucas in a concentration of 100:1 an AKI of 96.6 when mixed with 93 pump fuel. With a ratio of 100:1 this make Lucas the most concentrated additive.


STP Octane Booster
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

As with almost all of the boosters tested, more than one bottle is needed to raise the octane of an entire tank any significant amount. Based on the amounts needed, boosting 87 octane to 93 is not cost effective over just purchasing premium from the start. To boost to 98 AKI from 93 on most tanks would require over 6 bottles. This level of additive is never recommended.


Torco Mach Series Accelerator
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

Torco advertises that it can raise 93 pump to 107 when used in the highest concentrations. Tested in the highest recommended mixture we saw an AKI of ~99 though a secondary testing method. 8 full points from 107 if you assume Torco was implying 107 AKI and not 107 RON. This would mean it was raising 97RON to 107 RON.


Bloxygen
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

Bloxygen is a spray can of common inert gases that is sold for the purpose of preserving varnish and other finishing products after they have been opened and partially used. It works in two ways. First by adding a layer of heavier inert gas between the left over finish in the can and air trapped in the can. The second benefit is that is displaces trapped air that can hold moisture. This is very important when trying to preserve hydrophilic liquids such as fuels.


Motul Cleaner
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

While Motul's Moto Wash was originally intended for use on motorcycles, it also makes a great cleaner for below the water line on cars. While diesel fuel is still best for bugs and tar, I find something like Moto Wash better on brake dust, general caked on mud, or that fine white powder that driving on gravel roads leaves. It is also perfect for cleaning the engine where oil makes traditional cleaners worthless.


Turtle Was Ice Car Wash Wax System
Published on January 27, 2011 by Volvospeed

This soap worked better than the Eagle One Pro-Detail soap I previously reviewed and at least as well as the Zymol soap I have been previously using. With just 1oz I was able to wash our tow vehicle, a 13,000lb GMC Topkick. The soap did not seem to strip the existing wax, and lifted dirt without any signs of friction. While I did not test the claim of reduced water spots, I did not notice any which is saying a lot with black vehicles in the Florida sun. If this soap is available at your local auto store, TRY IT!

Sponsored Links
Follow Volvospeed
Fing Us On Facebook

 

Sponsored Links
Users Online
Online Now: 24
0 Members | 24 Guests

Most users ever online was 168 on July 23, 2013 at 01:52PM.