Volvospeed Forums

M56h Vin Question

Martin

I called a junkyard today to replace my S70 T5 manual tranny. They had one from a 98, but said my vin number didn't match theirs and it wouldn't work, according to their computer search. Is this true, or should i just ignore this? I just want to know what the difference are between the M56H. Mine's a 98 as well. Thanks for anyone that can clear this up.

Martin's roommate here:

It said it was from a turbo. What we're finding when we look for a replacement is that VIN numbers in a certain range "require" a different transmission than VIN numbers in the another range. So far we haven't had an answer as to why they're saying you need a different transmission based on your VIN, turbo or not.

is the tranny from a NA?

that's why he's saying it won't work i bet.

gotcha, i mean, i don't see how it could be physically different, but then again, i'm by no means an expert..

so if the junkyard car is a manual, turbo, it's gotta be from a T5M...

The "best" answer I got was "oh, transmissions for those are rare" with no explaination as to why or what the difference is. Kind of a sucky "best" answer, heh, oh well. Here's to hoping an expert chimes in with an answer :)

The "best" answer I got was "oh, transmissions for those are rare" with no explaination as to why or what the difference is. Kind of a sucky "best" answer, heh, oh well. Here's to hoping an expert chimes in with an answer :)

yeah, they are rare for sure..

whatever you do, DON'T tell anyone where it is.. i'm not kidding.

ps - what's wrong with the one in the car now? just curious.

The reason why they said it wont work is because it probably has a differant final drive gear ratio.

Any M-56-H manufactured from 96 up should work.

Look at the decal on your trans, there should be a bar code, trans type "IE" M-56-H, and the final drive gear ratio, 3.73, 4.0

Good luck

azinwa ;)

you guys... :D