Volvospeed Forums

Howto: Make Blinkers Flash On Door Lock

Serge

I finally took some time to go to my car and take pictures of my setup, as well as take the time to actually sit down and write this. So here goes.

Required tools:

* T25 torx (or T30? I forget)

* Soldering iron

* (optional) DMM (Digital Multi Meter)

Required parts:

* 12V DPST (DPDT will work as well) relay. The double-pole part is VERY important

* 12V SPDT (any 12V relay that is NC) relay. (optional, I will explain why in the write-up)

* Wire taps for 16-20 (or something close) gauge wire

* Heatshrink tubing

* Assorted color wire

What we will attempt to do:

When the Central Locking Relay sends 12Vs to lock the doors (+12Vs for 0.6 seconds), we will use that to trigger a relay, in effect powering our blinker lights.

How to do this:

First and fore most, I am not responsible if you break anything in your car. I have many years of hobby electronics experience under my belt, so for me this was something I did for fun. Do this at your own risk.

Warning #2: This was done on a 1995 850 Turbo, wiring may differ in later models. I followed the schematics for a '97 and the wires matches, so it shouldn't be a problem.

With that said, let's continue.

We will be working solely under the driver's kick panel. This is where all the car's electrical wires run through. There are nearly a hundred (if not more) wires in a few bunches running in there. Some of which MAY have similar colors, but I will hopefully provide enough information for you to find the right ones.

The Central Locking Relay has two pins that it uses for closing and opening the doors. M- and M+. M- will send -12Vs to lock the doors. M+ will send +12Vs to open the doors.

After painstakingly pulling out every relay in my Central Electrical Unit, unscrewing the entire assembly and slightly pulling it up from it's place to see the colors of the wires, I was able to map all the colors for the Central Locking Relay connectors.