Volvospeed Forums

Anti Skid Light On Xc 90

adjd1234

Hello, I'm a newbie fron New Jersey with a 2004 XC 90 problem.

My message center on my dash flashed " Service needed for anti skid mechanism". Just flashed once about a month and a half ago. Just that once. This was after I turned my car on after getting gas. Flashed once for a few seconds and haven't seen it since. I have 44K miles on the car.

Took car to dealer for scheduled service (Redbank Volvo) and happened to mention this. The next thing I know the "advisor" is telling me that I need to replace my ABS Module for $1250!!

What do you guys think? Any advise?

Can someone PLEASE give me an Indy Volvo mechs in Redbank or Freehold area please.

Hello, I'm a newbie fron New Jersey with a 2004 XC 90 problem.

My message center on my dash flashed " Service needed for anti skid mechanism". Just flashed once about a month and a half ago. Just that once. This was after I turned my car on after getting gas. Flashed once for a few seconds and haven't seen it since. I have 44K miles on the car.

Took car to dealer for scheduled service (Redbank Volvo) and happened to mention this. The next thing I know the "advisor" is telling me that I need to replace my ABS Module for $1250!!

What do you guys think? Any advise?

Can someone PLEASE give me an Indy Volvo mechs in Redbank or Freehold area please.

goto a parking lot and drive fairly fast and mash your breaks. This will determine the abs, then if that works drive through a corner and mash the breaks again while trying to make the car spin out or you can just take corners in the rain and see if you start to spin. If all is good, then forget about the message, it would also be helpfull to read the codes and post them (i cant tell you what the codes mean but others can).