Volvospeed Forums

How To Polish Your Tail Lights

Jaxx

So you're working on your car and you realize your lights are faded, and you're looking for a way to polish them.

I'm no expert, so I'm sure there are flaws in my write up... please read the whole thread because I'm sure there are better ways of doing some times... If you attempt to do this, it is at your own risk, and at your own risk only. I, nor Volvospeed is responsible for any actions you take.

with that said... Here's what you're going to need.

supplies.jpg

-taillight you want to polish (or any plastic lens)

-sand paper -- i suggest 400 or 600 grit.(i used 600) MAKE SURE this sand paper is wet/dry paper. you also want 1000-2000

-water. You're going to be wet-sanding the tail light.

-Polishing compound (I used Brasso)

-cotton towel or shirt... This is to use the polishing compound. this might depend on your compound too.

(OPTIONAL)

-Gloves, keeps your hands from getting too dirty

-lubricant for wet sanding (I used Bon Ami, a cleaner)

wet.jpg

start wet sanding. make sure that you don't go dry. have plenty of water on the light. If you have a lubricant, use that.

fade.jpg

after all that, this is what you should have. It should seem very dull and not very shiny. you can go all the way down to take all the prints made when it was manufactured, but that is your decision.

Start polishing it again with some 2000 grit. this should get rid of most big surface scratches. again, don't let the surface go dry. it shouldn't take much when you're on this stage.

poli.jpg

You should have something like this now.

From here, hit it up with some polishing compound to get rid of all the scratches, and give it a smooth, reflective finish.

Before and after comparo:

side.jpg

side by side -- notice the reflection.

shutter.jpg

You can see very clearly the light source on the polished one and how faded/pitted the 13 year old one is.

comments welcome. good luck.

Excellent work!