Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

black98t5

Do88 Drop In Intercooler And Rip Kit Review

I have had a DIY FMIC for a while now and I have never liked the poor throttle response. Not to mention it always felt a bit like a hack job since I am not very good at fabrication / welding.

do88165_zps1ae3e2a4.jpg

I saw the do88 intercooler on sale and jumped on it as it seemed better then the ebay ones at not too much of a price difference. They offered me a discount on the rip kit as well and since I was planning on going that route anyways I accepted.

Ordered wednesday night and recieved it friday morning.

*** UPS charged me $20ish dollars when they delivered, something to do with customs fee's I think. (I wasn't awake yet) They will only take a check! No cards! ***

Boxes looked unscathed

do88102_zps7782d70c.jpg

RIP kit contents

do88135_zpscd918a5d.jpg

do88129_zpsbddbf229.jpg

Hoses seem very sturdy

do88143_zps77e7c501.jpg

Intercooler

do88111_zpsac3b3050.jpg

do88116_zps13980f26.jpg

do88123_zpse4321a8a.jpg

do88163_zps0d4eda31.jpg

vs stock

do88171_zps2e0debfb.jpg

do88172_zpsf0eab102.jpg

helper

do88148_zpsbfa4f690.jpg

I couldn't install it without dropping the rad.

Bolt holes lined up.

do88173_zps02fece63.jpg

I recommend an extra set of hands when installing. It is very heavy and awkward to reinstall, even when using a jack.

RIP kit sits close to engine but doesnt quite touch. I could pull the OTE pipe out of the coupler a bit if i wanted more space between it and the engine.

do88177_zps6b7fe0a4.jpg

do88178_zpsef002da8.jpg

Fresh air tube wont fit unless you trim the TB hose a bit, I opted not to since I could always go back and do it later if i wanted.

do88127_zps2fcd2d45.jpg

do88181_zps31a4bbd8.jpg

do88183_zps4f7ad7b8.jpg

do88185_zpsc0d0b47e.jpg

UPDATE* Found the bolts for mounting condenser they were in the package. They are included!

Vacuum is the same as with the FMIC

do88186_zps2cadf4d9.jpg