Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

boostedvet

New Member About To Buy A Volvo

Hello everyone, I am Dange and i live out in southern arizona, I joined up because im looking to possibly buy a volvo wagon soon and im going to look around for some info and advice, Its mainly going to be a daily driver about all i know right now is i want the turbo 5cyl. and reasonably low mileage. but thats about all i know what to look for.

Im new to volvos but not to modding cars i used to have a turbocharged mazda miata and I currently own a supercharged corvette that's rather heavily modified to the point i decided i need a daily. so im not planning on going all out performance on the volvo so ill probably stop at intake/exhaust/tune to make it a bit more fun I just want something to get around town and be able throw all my stuff in load up a few friends and the dog and go snowboarding or camping etc in any weather in comfort

Sounds like you're looking for a 98 V70 T5 (possibly manual). They're by far the most popular platform on this forum and rather easy to maintain and modify.

Volvo's are alot different than hondas mazdas etc...Used they can require alot more maintenance usually as they still run and drive good with worn parts..Volvo's are alot more limited on aftermarket support but are a blast to drive and more of a niche community ..Good fun DD and with struts springs and sway bars it will handle nice and get 20+ mpg. Need more power? near factory turbo options to reliably get you to 300hp if you have an auto trans this is about all the power they will handle reliably....

Sounds good. I really appriciated it! And 300 hp should be more than enough and about perfect for a daily so I don't even see myself upgrading the turbo unless I got the 18t (I think I read thats what the upgrade was) for cheap and could update it to the european v70r levels