Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ethan5150

Broken Timing Belt Help

Hi everyone, I'm new to the Volvo community and would love any help you could offer.

I purchased a 1994 850 Turbo last year with about 80K miles on it.  Unbeknownst to me (and certainly my bad for not checking), the timing belt had never been changed.

Last week it snapped.

So I talked to my mechanic who said that despite this car having an interference engine, he's worked on 2 Volvos (similar years) that blew their timing belt and when he replaced the belt, low and behold, they fired right up.  His suggestion was to spend the $23 for a belt and give it a try.

So I went through the entire process of installing the new timing belt.  I made sure the marks lined up on both the intake and exhaust cams as well as the crank.

When I go to start the car though - it doesn't turn over.  In fact, other than all the wheels that the belt runs over spinning, it does nothing.  No firing, no noise - just the whir of the wheels spinning around.

So my question is this:  I noticed that for every turn of the crank, the cams turn twice.  Is it possible that one or the other, or both, of the cam wheels need to be turned exactly 360 degrees to fix the problem?  My mechanic said that it's possible that the valves are open when cylinder 1 is at TDC and that's why it's not firing - because the cams are exactly 1 full turn off.  Is this making sense?  Is there any truth to this?

The walkthroughs I went through to do the belt assumed that I was pulling off an old belt and that those marks wouldn't be moving much during the change (certainly not a full turn) but in my case, who knows how many times each of those wheels spun around when the belt snapped.