Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Crossthreaders

1997 850 Awd

Hey guys. I’m currently about to purchase a 850 Awd in regent red (I think that’s the colour). I’m just wondering what I should look out for if there is anything. I have a 94 T5 so I’m pretty confident, just entirely unsure about the awd system. Also what kind of power figures can I expect to push through this awd system, and what’s the torque split? I’m guessing it’s front bias? Again I have no experience with the awd, only the fwd so any help is appreciated. If anyone could point me in the right direction for aftermarket parts for the awd that would be sweet.

I’m planning on around 400awhp and daily driven. Yes I know this will be a fairly substantial build but I have nothing but time. Thanks for any help👍🏾

Not quite the correct subforum.

This video might explain a few things:

If you look on Youtube, you'll find videos of Hussein's V70XR. IIRC, his last dyno results were over 450AWHP while power was distributed 50/50 front/rear.

Change the fluids, keep your tires within spec (it's very particular about this, must be within 3/32"), and don't do any hard launches. These aren't 911 Turbos, RS3s, or GTRs, but the AWD is relatively tough.

There are no direct aftermarket upgrades for the AWD, only the multi-link rear suspension.

Factory test directions:

"Ensure that the viscous unit remains at room temperature (it was about 45 F outside but best I can do).

A7700344

– Raise the left or right-hand front wheel so that it rotates freely. The other wheels must be in contact with the ground.

– Select neutral.

– Position a torque wrench horizontally as illustrated (basically attach it to the big axle nut and position the wrench so that it's parallel to the ground with the handle pointing in the direction of the front of the car. Read the torque value.

– Turn the torque wrench half a turn (180) clockwise with even torque for 25 seconds.