Sign in to follow this  
gdog

best way to find a used engine?

So the time has come; the 855t engine is getting rather tired.  Still runs fine, except a tad down on power, mainly noticeable when climbing a hill when engine is cold.  Checked the compression some days ago and found two cyls were quite a bit down, like < 100 psi!  No engine noise, idles fine and pulls good vacuum.

Would like to go with 2002+ 2.3L HPT RN engine from jy. 

So how best to go about searching for a "good" used engine?   Is there such a thing, or should I just bite the bullet and go completely through it (valve job, bore + hone, etc.) before installing?

I could go pic n pull route but pulling an engine myself in jy environment just scares me a bit, as I've never done it before, and I'm not as spry as I used to be.  Don't have a designated helper and strangely the Mrs is NOT volunteering.

Please chime in with your ideas!

Edited by gdog

I would suggest something that you can hear/see run. I pulled an engine from the PnP a while back. Never heard it run though. In the end, a waste of time and money.

I've had good luck with finding something on ebay. A few places post videos of the engines running in the cars.

The '01 RN motor we put into the wife's '97 GLT was from such a place. It needed cleaned up, but I didn't split the block/head. Just cleaned the oil pan, new timing belt, etc. Been doing great.
Picked up another motor from the same place. Had a vid and it wasn't pulled from the car until after I'd bought it. (The other engine we bought had been out for a few months).

The only other way i'd pull on myself is from a donor, on my property. I'd have to deal with getting rid of the rest of it, but pulling one in the yard sucks. I did it solo.

Edited by Chuck W
  • Upvote 1