Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

beachnut

Running Shoes

Well, not only am I getting old ... I'm getting fat too :( I could stand to lose about 15 pounds, currently at 170, 5'8". Soooo, I've decided to take up running again. I always ran during high school (x-country) and for a while in my late 20's when I did a few triathlons, but it's been a solid 12 years since I hit the bricks and I know that running shoes have changed a lot in that time. Any suggestions on what brand/model seems to work best for you? Comfort is my #1 goal.

I've been using Asics GT-2100's for about 8 months now and absolutely love them. I could use a little bit more cushion but as far as durability / support / traction, they are really quite good. Link

I need to lose some weight over break as well. I've put on about 17 lbs since I've gotten to school, granted I started lifting about 3 months ago, so a lot of that is muscle... I go about 6/7 days a week as well as I run a 5k every day. I've been thinking about going back onto a tuna, cottage cheese and crackers diet so I can slim down a little bit though.

you need to find out how you run...in terms of "pronation"

the right type of shoe makes an incredible difference...

www.coolrunning.com has a pretty active forum

yep, figure out how your foot moves (pronates, as Travis said). Asics & New Balance make a wide range of models that cover just about every type of pronator.

I have loved every pair of Asics running shoes I've had (GT series) and I've had at least 6 pairs, all of different model #s). My New Balance 951 that I have right now are ok, but are not nearly as comfortable as any of my Asics shoes. Also, these 951s really don't have the pronation control (seeing as how I'm an overpronator, used to have orthotics, and am well over 200lbs).